Fashion By Jenni











{December 26, 2007}   Review of Express Tights

In my last article I gave a review of We Love Color tights and explained my decision to return them. I love the colored tights trend as I mentioned in my favorite fashion trends of the season article. I decided to buy my tights at Express and I wasn’t disappointed. These are my thoughts about my purchase:

The material is good quality.These tights stretch without fear of ripping and they didn’t tear despite my momentarily raggedy toenails. The material feels soft and are more comfortable to wear. According to the package the materials in the Express tights are 95% nylon and 5% lycra. So, if you are allergic or don’t like the feeling of either material than you might not find them as comfortable as I did.

The tights fit me better overall. The material sits evenly on my legs and doesn’t bag at the bottom. The We Love Color tights had a tendency to not stay centered on my legs. They would have parts that were stretched out and others that were too loose. The Express tights remain tight and the material stays evened out.

The tights are low waisted. Some people may prefer tights that are high waisted, but I feel that low waisted tights are more versatile. You can wear either a high or low waisted skirt without them showing. Also, you don’t have to roll them and have a humongous bulge.

There wasn’t as many colors available. The We Love Colors website boasts 45 different colors, which was a factor in my decision to order them. Express had less than 10 colors available, but there may have been more at different stores. The colors at Express were ones that would go with a variety of colors and many of them were primary. The colors included: blue, yellow, green, pink, and red.

The price of the tights were expensive. Fifteen dollars for one pair of tights at Express was a fifty percent markup from eight dollars a tight at WLC (We Love Colors). However, I felt they were worthwhile, because the overall quality was better. The price may limit the number you buy, but if you buy ones that match your wardrobe you won’t need many.

The sizing chart used your overall height, but the weight was more precise. I wish that tights wouldn’t use your overall height, because different people have different leg lengths even if they have the same heights. The weight was more precise. The package said 90-155 pounds while at WLC it just said under 300 pounds. The problem is that some of the people may weigh 110 pounds while others weigh 290, yet they are wearing the same pair of tights.

I don’t plan on returning these tights and am glad to have found some that fit me correctly. Have you bought colored tights at Express or elsewhere? In what colors?

Chris says:

I recently purchased several pairs of Express Tights and I love them! They are absolutely the best tights available unless you don’t mind spending $50 + on Wolford’s. They do not sag and are very opaque and confortable all day long. You won’t be disapointed!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
